Sustaining your VITA Program Recording

shutterstock_255837496As a nonprofit organization, you need to raise money for your VITA site. But where do you find these funding sources? Once you find those sources, how can you establish and cultivate partnerships that generate sustained funding?

Leading this training is Kaylan Somerville, an “innovative, nimble, and experienced” fundraising executive who has raised and managed nearly $20 million since 2005. Kaylan gives concrete steps to successfully fundraise for your VITA site, that consider the needs of both established and developing organizations. She also shares how you can strategically fundraise throughout the calendar year.

Here’s the recording in case you missed it:

Further Resources:

Download the slides, Training Reference Guide, and resource list.

Kaylan Somerville’s list of prospective VITA funders by region.


We encourage you to join us for Leveraging Partnerships to Fundraise for VITA Programs. This follow-up training on fundraising will share how to create mutually beneficial partnerships with banks that can lead to tax site and event sponsorships, volunteers, and more. Discover how to approach banks, what to say, and what to offer to get them to say yes. You will also learn how to leverage a Taxathon to raise funds for your VITA program.

Date: Thursday, November 30

Time: 12:00 PM EDT (11 AM CDT/ 10 AM MDT/ 9 AM PDT)


Recent Blog Posts

Tax Filing with Immigrant or DACA Status

If you are a Deferred Action for Childhood Arrival (DACA) recipient or a non-citizen US resident, and have earnings from work, you may be required to file a tax return and pay taxes on your earnings. However,…

Mar 15, 2018
Read more