新冠疫情补助金:移民资格

为了在新冠疫情期间提供财政救济,美国国会已通过了针对低收入美国人的三轮补助金(又称“纾困金”)支付计划。对于新一轮的支付,领取资格已经扩大到拥有个人纳税人识别号码 (ITIN),且其家庭成员拥有社会安全号码 (SSN) 的报税人。如果你的家人有社会安全号码,请提交一份 2020 年联邦报税表。

如果你的家人有社会安全号码 SSN,你的家庭可能有资格领取补助金或其他退税

你可能有资格领取最多 3 笔补助金。为了获得第一笔(1,200 美元)、第二笔(600美元)或者第三笔(1,400美元)补助金,你不能在其他人的报税表中被申报为被抚养人。你的收入必须在以下范围内:

获得全额补助金所需的收入(第一、第二、第三张支票) 第一笔补助金最高收入限额 第二笔补助金最高收入限额 第三笔补助金最高收入限额
单人报税 0-75,000 美元 99,000 美元 87,000 美元 80,000 美元
已婚联合报税 0-112,500 美元 198,5000 美元 174,000 美元 160,000 美元
户主 0-150,000 美元 146,000 美元 124,000 美元 120,000 美元

第一笔和第二笔补助金的 社会安全号码SSN 要求与第三笔补助金不同。请查看下面的图表。

第一和第二笔补助金 第三笔补助金
非军人家庭 如果配偶中一方没有社会安全号码SSN,那么有社会安全号码SSN 的配偶和有 SSN 或领养儿童纳税识别号码ATIN 的符合条件的孩子可以获得补助金。

17 岁以下的孩子只有在父母中至少有一人有 SSN 的情况下才能获得补助金。

任何有社会安全号码 SSN 或领养儿童纳税识别号码ATIN 的家庭成员或受抚养人都可以获得补助金。有社会安全号码SSN 或 ATIN 的被抚养人(任何年龄),即使他们的父母没有社会安全号码SSN,仍有资格获得补助金。
军人家庭 即使配偶一方没有社会安全号码SSN,配偶双方依然均可获得补助金(包括没有 SSN 的配偶)。有社会安全号码SSN 或领养儿童纳税识别号码ATIN 的孩子(17 岁以下)也可以获得补助金。 即使配偶一方没有社会安全号码SSN, 配偶双方依然均可获得补助金(包括没有社会安全号码 SSN 的配偶)。有社会安全号码SSN 或 ATIN 的受抚养人(任何年龄)也有资格获得补助金。

如果由于你和你的配偶都没有 社会安全号码SSN 而被拒绝支付第一笔补助金,你可以在 2020 年报税表上申请第一笔和第二笔补助金作为纾困金退税抵免。如果你符合条件,提交 2020 年报税表也可以让你在 2021 年获得第三笔补助金。

被抚养人:

对于有 社会安全号码SSN 或领养儿童纳税识别号码 (ATIN) 的孩子,你可以申请额外的一笔款项——500 美元(第一笔补助金)、600 美元(第二笔补助金)或 1,400 美元(第三笔补助金)。孩子必须与你有亲属关系(通过血缘关系、婚姻关系或领养关系),年龄在 17 岁以下,与你一起生活超过半年,并被填写为你的被抚养人。17 岁以上的被抚养人只能获得第三笔补助金。

对于 2020 年出生的孩子,你可以获得一笔补助金,方法是在提交 2020 年报税表时将其作为补助金退税。在 2022 年提交 2021 年报税表时,可以为 2021 年出生的孩子申请一笔补助金。

你必须提交一份 2020 年联邦报税表,才能为你的家庭领取补助金

如果你以前从未交过税,你将需要个人纳税人识别号码 (ITIN)。美国国税局 (IRS) 向那些需要有美国纳税人识别号码但没有社会安全号码 (SSN) 也没有资格申请 社会安全号码SSN 的人发放 个人纳税人识别号码ITIN。

如果你已经有了 个人纳税人识别号码ITIN 并且是在 2013 年之前签发的,那么你应该已经收到 IRS 的更新通知。如果你在过去三年(即 2017-2019 年)没有在美国联邦报税表上使用过它,那么你需要更新它。

为申请或更新 个人纳税人识别号码ITIN,你必须填写 IRS 表格 W-7,“国税局IRS 个人纳税人识别号码申请”。你需要向 国税局IRS 提交表格,并附上完整的报税表,以及用于证明身份和外国身份的文件。你将需要原始文件或来自发证机构认证的副本。表格 W-7 的说明中提供了可以使用的文件列表。

为了获得帮助以便申请 个人纳税人识别号码ITIN,你可以预约 国税局IRS 纳税人援助中心(不是所有地点都提供这项服务)或验收代理 (CAA)。一些 验收代理CAA 还提供免费的报税服务,帮助你提交报税表。如果你前往其他地点,你需要带上你填好的报税表,以便它可以与 W-7 表格一起发送。

虽然你也可以直接向 国税局IRS 提交材料来申请 个人纳税人识别号码ITIN,但在 国税局IRS 归还你的文件时存在延迟风险,或者文件有丢失风险。建议通过 国税局IRS 纳税人援助中心IRS TAC 或 验收代理CAA 进行申请。可能需要 9-11 周时间来处理 个人纳税人识别号码ITIN 申请,如果文件丢失则需要更长时间。在这里了解关于如何申请 个人纳税人识别号码ITIN 的更多信息。

国税局IRS 对于获取或更新个人纳税人识别号码 ITIN 不收取费用。一些 验收代理CAA 可能会为他们的服务收费,以准备你的纳税表和 W-7 表格。在预约之前,请询问 验收代理CAA,了解他们的费用信息。

用 个人纳税人识别号码ITIN 提交报税表是安全的。报税不会影响你的移民身份。国税局IRS 不会与移民机构或任何联邦机构分享公民信息。获得纳税抵免不会对移民产生负面影响(而且在公共收费评估规则中也从未被认为是负面的)。

免费税务援助可以帮助你领取补助金和其他退税

请访问 www.getyourrefund.org 获取虚拟税务申报协助,或致电 211 寻找你附近的志愿所得税协助站点。


Recommended for you


The latest

COVID-19 Stimulus Checks: Immigrant Eligibility

En español | En français | 中文 | bằng tiếng Việt | عربى

To provide financial relief during the COVID-19 pandemic, Congress has passed three rounds of stimulus checks for lower-income Americans. With each new round of payments, the eligibility requirements have expanded to include more filers with Individual Taxpayer Identification Numbers (ITINs) in households with members who have Social Security Numbers (SSNs). File a federal 2020 tax return if anyone in your household has a Social Security number. 

If someone in your household has an SSN, your household may be eligible for a stimulus check and other refunds

You may be eligible for more than one stimulus check. To get the first ($1,200), second ($600), or third ($1,400) stimulus checks, you cannot be claimed as a dependent on someone else’s tax return. You must be within the income limits outlined below:

Income to Receive Full Stimulus Payment (first, second, and third check) First Stimulus Check Maximum Income Limit Second Stimulus Check Maximum Income Limit Third Stimulus Check Maximum Income Limit
Single Filer $0 – $75,000 $99,000 $87,000 $80,000
Married Filing Jointly $0 – $112,500 $198,500 $174,000 $160,000
Head of Household $0 – $150,000 $146,000 $124,000 $120,000

The SSN requirements for the first and second stimulus checks differ from the the third check. See the chart below.

First and Second Stimulus Check Third Stimulus Check
Non-Military Family If one spouse doesn’t have an SSN, the spouse with an SSN and qualifying children with an SSN or ATIN can get the stimulus.

Children (under 17) can only get the stimulus if at least one parent has an SSN.

Any family member or dependent with an SSN or ATIN can get the stimulus. Dependents (any age) with SSNs or ATINs still qualify for the stimulus even if their parents don’t have SSNs.
Military Family If one spouse doesn’t have an SSN, both spouses can receive the stimulus (including the spouse without an SSN). Qualifying children (under 17) with an SSN or ATIN can also get the stimulus. If one spouse doesn’t have an SSN, both spouses can receive the stimulus (including the spouse without an SSN). Dependents (any age) with an SSN or ATIN also qualify for the stimulus.

If you were denied your first stimulus payment because both you and your spouse do not have SSNs, you can claim both the first and second stimulus checks as the Recovery Rebate Tax Credit on your 2020 tax return.

Dependents:

You may be able to claim an additional payment – $500 (first stimulus check), $600 (second stimulus check), or $1,400 (third stimulus check) – for children who have an SSN or Adoption Taxpayer Identification Number (ATIN). A child must be related to you (by blood, marriage, or adoption), under the age of 17, live with you for over half the year, and be claimed as your dependent. Dependents over 17 qualify for the third stimulus payment only.

You can get a stimulus payment for a child born in 2020 as the Recovery Rebate Credit when you file your 2020 tax return. Children born in 2021 can be claimed for a stimulus payment when you file a 2021 tax return in 2022. Filing a 2020 tax return also allows you to get the third stimulus check in 2021, if you qualify.

You must file a federal 2020 tax return to claim a stimulus check for your household

If you’ve never filed taxes before, you will need to get an Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN). The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) issues ITINs to people who are required to have a U.S. taxpayer identification number but who don’t have, and are not eligible for, a Social Security number (SSN).

If you already have an ITIN and it was issued before 2013, you should have already received a notice from IRS to renew it. If you haven’t used your ITIN on a U.S. federal tax return in the last three years (2017-2019) you will need to renew it.​

To apply for or renew an ITIN, you must complete IRS Form W-7, “Application for IRS Individual Taxpayer Identification Number.” You will need to submit the form to the IRS with a completed tax return and documents to verify identity and foreign status. You will need original documents or certified copies from the issuing agencies. A list of the documents that can be used is in the instructions for Form W-7.

To get help applying for an ITIN, you can schedule an appointment at an IRS Taxpayer Assistance Center (not all locations offer this service) or with a Certifying Acceptance Agent (CAA). Some CAAs also offer free tax preparation to help you file a tax return. If you go to one of the other locations, you will need to bring your completed tax return so it can be sent with Form W-7.

While you can also submit materials directly to the IRS to apply for an ITIN, there is risk of delay in the IRS returning your documentation, or it being lost. Applying through an IRS TAC or CAA is recommended. ITIN applications can take 9-11 weeks to process or longer if documentation is missing. Learn more about how to apply for an ITIN here.

The IRS does not charge a fee to get or renew an ITIN. Some CAAs may charge for their services to prepare your return and W-7. Ask a CAA about their fees before scheduling an appointment.

It is safe to file a tax return with an ITIN. Filing your taxes will not affect your immigration status. The IRS does not share citizenship information with immigration or any other federal agency. Receiving tax credits does not have negative immigration-related consequences (and is never considered negatively in a public charge assessment rule.)

Free tax assistance is available to help you claim your stimulus check and other refunds

Visit www.getyourrefund.org for virtual tax filing assistance or call 211 to find a Volunteer Income Tax Assistance site near you.


Recommended for you


The latest